Umpire

You Make the Call – Use of Special Pinch-Runner

May 09, 2016


Situation:

With one out and no runners on base in the fifth inning of a Little League (Major) Division baseball game, a batter draws a base on balls. After reaching first base, the manager of the offensive team asks for, and is granted, time. He proceeds to insert a special pinch-runner into the game for the player who had just walked. After the special pinch-runner is announced and replaces the runner at first base, the manager of the defensive team approaches the home plate umpire. The manager of team on defense states that this was the second time that the opposition has inserted a special pinch-runner for the same player. Upon review of the lineup card, the home plate umpire confirms the improper substitution, and the manager wants to know: is there a penalty?

Explanation:

Once the improper substitution is identified, time is called (if the ball has already been put back in play), and the proper player is returned to the base with no penalty assessed. According to the 2016 Little League Baseball® Official Regulations, Playing Rules, and Policies - Rule 7.14 – Once each inning a team may utilize a player who is not in the batting order as a special pinch-runner for any offensive player. A player may only be removed for a special pinch-runner one time during the game. The player for whom the pinch-runner runs is not subject to removal from the lineup. If the pinch-runner remains in the game as a substitute defensive or offensive player, the player may not be used again as a pinch-runner while in the batting order. However, if removed for another substitute, that player or any player not in the line-up is again eligible to be used as a pinch-runner.

Note 1: This rule does not apply if the local league adopts the continuous batting order. See Rule 4.04.

Note 2: During tournament play starting in 2017, a team may utilize a player who is not in the batting order as a special pinch-runner for any offensive player twice a game, but not more than one time per inning. A player may only be removed for a special pinch-runner one time during a game. The player for whom the pinch-runner runs is not subject to removal from the lineup. If the pinch-runner remains in the game as a substitute defensive or offensive player, the player may not be used again as a pinch-runner while in the batting order. However, if removed for another substitute that player or any player not in the line-up, is again eligible to be used as a pinch-runner.


Tagged In
eligibility
Player Re-Entry
Special Pinch-Runner
base
special
pinch-runner
base runner
substitution
lineup